Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: The Avalanches

Aussie electro weirdos the Avalanches will be performing what I’m sure will be a fun set at the Pitchfork Music Festival on July 16th.  Known for their fun, quirky blend of house, big beat, and odd samples, they’re already electro powerhouses after releasing just two albums – Since I Left You and Wildflower.  Those albums were sixteen years apart, by the way, and both are considered high watermarks in their genre.  Since I Left You is widely thought of as one of the greatest Australian albums of all time and the best album of the year 2000.

It will be a fun, rare set from them.  A friend of mine finalized his decision to attend Pitchfork after learning the Avalanches were playing there.  Don’t miss them.

Keep your mind open.

[Don’t leave without subscribing.  I’ll miss you.]


Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: Derrick Carter

Chicago house music legend Derrick Carter will be playing a set to a hometown crowd at the Pitchfork Music Festival July 16th.  Mr. Carter has moved the genre of house back into popularity again and built a big following in Europe.  He  uses samples well and always has the sickest beats.  I’m sure he’ll put a bit of extra mustard and relish on his set in front of a lot of fellow Chicagoans.

Keep your mind open.

[I’m in your e-mail inbox when you subscribe.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: NE-HI

Chicago’s NE-HI formed to score a friend’s film and ended up becoming indie rock darlings.  I’m guessing they took their name from the mostly forgotten brand of soda, but perhaps I’m wrong.  I do know that their catchy psychedelic rock hooks are good and I’m confident a lot of their hometown fans will be at their Pitchfork Music Festival set on July 16th to cheer them.

Keep your mind open.

[Here’s a great offer!  Free blog updates sent straight to your e-mail inbox in exchange for your e-mail address.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: Kilo Kish

Singer, songwriter, painter, visual artist, and textile designer Kilo Kish will be playing an early set on July 16 at Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival.  Ms. Kish has a neat vision of the world and witty lyrics that cut right to the heart of issues of gender, politics, art, race, and being a Millennial.  She’s intriguing.  That alone makes her set worth a look, as do her slick beats that blend trip hop with R&B.

[Keep my blog in your pocket on your mobile when you subscribe.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: A Tribe Called Quest

Hip-hop legends A Tribe Called Quest are bringing their final tour to Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival on July 15th.  The impact of ATCQ on rap music is probably incalculable, and they were (and still are) a bright contrast to gangsta rap.  Don’t let that sentence confuse you, however.  ATCQ were (and still are) powerful voices for the causes of racial, gender-based, and economic equality, solutions for gang violence, and freedom of speech.

Founding member Phife Dawg died last year, so the band announced that this will be their last tour and the outstanding We Got It from Here…Thank You 4 Your Service will be their last album.  It’s sure to be a raucous set full of hip-hop favorites, power anthems, and political commentary.

Keep your mind open.

[You can be part of dis blog when you subscribe.]

DJ set list for July 06, 2017

Thanks to everyone who listened to my WSND last night.  It was a fun, humid show.  Here’s my set list from the night:

  1. All Them Witches – Call Me Star
  2. Tamaryn – Afterlight
  3. Mars Volta – Drunkship of Lanterns (requested)
  4. The Exorcist radio ad
  5. The Constellations – Setback
  6. The Smithereens – Blues Before & After
  7. Radiohead – Climbing Up the Walls (remix)
  8. Radiohead – Little by Little
  9. Applesauce Tears – A Kiss and a Cuddle
  10. Moors – Asphyxiated
  11. Imarhan – Idarchan Net
  12. Goat – Words
  13. Shanty Tramp radio ad
  14. Slavething – Death Thing
  15. Skyland Drive-In Theater intermission spot
  16. Nirvana – The Man Who Sold the World
  17. The New Pornographers – You Tell Me Where
  18. Beacon – Backbone
  19. The Troggs – Wild Thing
  20. The Female radio ad
  21. Bad Religion – The State of the End of the Millennium Address
  22. The Humpers – Rocket and the Retards
  23. Buzzcocks – Do It
  24. Dead Dick Hammer and the TBA Band – Res-Erection
  25. Don Johnson – Heartbeat (requested)
  26. The Love Me Nots – I’m the One
  27. The Black Eyed Snakes – Chicken Bone George
  28. Johnny Cash – Everybody Loves a Nut
  29. Earthless – Uluru Rock
  30. Cosmonauts – Doom Generation

I’m back on air July 13th and I’ll have a big Pitchfork Music Festival preview show highlighting many of the artists playing in Chicago next weekend.  Give me a listen.  You might discover your favorite band.

Keep your mind open.

[Don’t forget to subscribe before you go.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: P.J. Harvey

Singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, actress, and sculptor P.J. Harvey will be playing Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival on July 15th.  Ms. Harvey is an alt-rock, feminist giant who has crafted complex songs she insists aren’t about her, but many suspect otherwise.  She is bold and beautiful, serious and sexy, charming and chaotic.  Her set will surely be packed and one of the highlights of the festival.

Keep your mind open.

[Spinnin’ wheel, spinnin’ through.  Subscribin’s what you should do.]


Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic

I don’t know what I can write about George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic that hasn’t already been written.  The man is the godfather of funk and pretty much spearheaded a musical revolution in the 1970’s.  His bassist, Bootsy Collins, is one of the greatest of all time.  They’re responsible for more psychotronic freak-outs than you can imagine, not to mention a thousand beats and bass lines you’ve heard in ten thousand hip hop songs.  Their set on July 15th at the Pitchfork Music Festival is a can’t-miss show.

Keep your mind open.

[It would be funky if you subscribed.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: Madlib

DJ, producer, and rapper Madlib will be playing Saturday afternoon, July 15th, at the 2017 Pitchfork Music Festival.  Madlib has collaborated with some of the best rappers and musicians in the world, including MF Doom, J Rocc, Talib Kweli, De La Soul, Erykah Badu, Mos Def, and Kanye West.

His Madvillain album with MF Doom is a masterwork, and many cite his 2003 album Shades of Blue as another must-have record.  I’m sure his set will be jaw-dropping.

Keep your mind open.

[You’d be a great neighbor if you subscribed.]

Pitchfork Music Festival artist spotlight: S U R V I V E

Electronic rock act S U R V I V E (who, for some unknown reason, tend to spell their name with a space between each letter) are best known for having some of the composers of the Stranger Things soundtrack as members.  They create atmospheric and sometimes creepy instrumentals that instantly remind you of John Carpenter movie scores.  I’m interested to see how a live performance sounds from them.  They play Saturday afternoon at the Pitchfork Music Festival.

Keep your mind open.

[Subscribing is like entering a music omniverse, so why wait?]